Mystery Frog in my Garden

Need some help to identify a frog (or tadpole or egg mass)? Sounds like a job for the collective minds of the Community. Photographs and/or recordings are greatly appreciated. Results guaranteed (All money cheerfully refunded).

Moderators: Chris Key, Gerry Marantelli, Mod Squad

Mindy
spawn
spawn

Mystery Frog in my Garden

Postby Mindy » Sat Jun 02, 2007 11:10 pm

I have noticed a particular frog that keeps appearing in my backyard and am curious about what species it might be so that I can start to put in some things in my garden to make him more at home.

Unfortunately I am unable to get a picture or recording, as I’m very new to this frog watching game, but the internet has been useless in aiding me so I will try and describe it as best I can for the knowledgable minds here on frogs.org.

He is a stark white/cream in colour with no visible markings near the eye, groin or on the inside of the thighs (as far as I can tell, since I have been cautious not to disturb him too much to get a look at his underbelly for fear of hurting him). His eye has a horizontal pupil however and is orange in colour. The pads on his feet seem to be broader then his toes though.

And an interesting thing, I thought his body was rather wide but when I tried to gently nudge him with a piece of bark to see more of his markings, he startled and immediately puffed up to certainly three times his width and height on either side of the torso. The head and such stayed the same though. I watched him for a long moment too and though the bumps on his skin seemed a little bit more pronounced, he did not appear to secrete anything.

It is about 45mm in length and when I listen carefully it sound like it’s making a faint clicking/ticking sound.